Arts Guide Spring 2016 : Page 28

Visual arts CalENDar through February 20 Bill Willis, Bradley Kerl, “Simple Taste is Pop-ular” Art Palace Gallery 832-390-1278 | artpalacegallery.com through February 20 ReelArt: “The Art of Celebration” Nicole Longnecker Gallery 713-591-4997 | longneckergallery.com through February 21 “Field of Light” by Bruce Munro Discovery Green 713-400-7336 | discoverygreen.com/ fieldoflight through February 27 Nick Vaughan and Jake Margolin, “50 States: Wyoming”; Ying Zhu, “Sugar Coated”; Jes-sica Kreutter, “Small Cities on Stars”; and Giovanni Valderas, “A Forged Utopia” Art League Houston 713-523-9530 | artleaguehouston.org through February 27 Randy Bolton, “Flicker + Fade” Lawndale Art Center 713-528-5858 | lawndaleartcenter.org through February 28 Chadwick & Spector Redbud Gallery 713-862-2532 | redbudgallery.com through February 28 “Contingent Beauty: Contemporary Art from Latin America” Museum of Fine Arts, Houston 713-639-7300 | mfah.org Cindy Lisica Gallery 713-807-7760 | cindylisica.com through March 13 “Sojourn in the Shadowlands” Holocaust Museum Houston 713-942-8000 | hmh.org through March 18 9th Juried Invitational Exhibition Visual Arts Alliance 1600 Smith Street Gallery visualartsalliance.org through March 19 Slavs and Tatars, “Mirrors for Princes” Blaffer Art Museum 713-743-9521 | blafferartmuseum.org through March 19 “What Shall We Do Next?” DiverseWorks 713-223-8346 | diverseworks.org through March 20 “Vera Lutter: Inverted Worlds” Museum of Fine Arts, Houston 713-639-7300 | mfah.org through March 22 “Los Trompos (Spinning Tops)” Discovery Green 713-400-7336 | discoverygreen.com/los-trompos through March 27 “Jennie C. Jones: Compilation” Contemporary Arts Museum Houston 713-284-8250 | camh.org through March 31 “Change of Engagement: The Photography of Serge Timacheff” UH-Clear Lake Art Gallery 281-283-3376 | uhcl.edu/artgallery through april 24 “Statements: African American Art from the Museum’s Collection” Museum of Fine Arts, Houston 713-639-7300 | mfah.org through May 1 “Eye on Houston: High School Documentary Photography” Museum of Fine Arts, Houston 713-639-7300 | mfah.org through May 8 “At Your Service, Found Subjects: Works by Sondra Sherman, Mixed and Mastered: Turn-table Kitsch” Houston Center for Contemporary Craft 713-529-4848 | crafthouston.org through May 15 “Of Birds and Texas: The Art of Stuart & Scott Gentling” The Printing Museum 713-522-4652 | printingmuseum.org through May 29 “Honoring Olivewood” National Museum of Funeral History 281-876-3063 | nmfh.org through June 5 “Deco Nights: Evenings in the Jazz Age” Museum of Fine Arts, Houston 713-639-7300 | mfah.org through June 19 “The Secret of the Hanging Egg: Salvador Dalí at the Menil” The Menil Collection 713-525-9400 | menil.org through December 31 “An American Visual Language: Speciments of Historic Wood Type Printed by John Horn at Shooting Star Press” The Printing Museum 713-522-4652 | printingmuseum.org through December 31 “The Legacy of The Kelsey Press Company as Seen Through Highlights from the F.C. ‘Bud’ Hadfield Collection” The Printing Museum 713-522-4652 | printingmuseum.org February 18-March 31 Art Blocks Downtown District and The Downtown Dis-trict Public Art Committee Main Street Square 713-650-3022 | downtowndistrict.org February 19, 26 “Size Doesn’t Matter” group show East End Studio Gallery eestudiogallery.com February 20-March 16 Jessica Stockholder, “Color Jam Houston” Downtown District 713-650-3022 | downtowndistrict.org February 21-May 30 “Sculpted in Steel: Art Deco Automobiles and Motorcycles, 1929–1940” Museum of Fine Arts, Houston 713-639-7300 | mfah.org February 26 Buffalo Soldiers Gala 2016, “Honoring Our Military Musicians” Buffalo Soldiers National Museum 713-942-8920 | buffalosoldiermuseum.com February 27 Winter Open House The Printing Museum 713-522-4652 | printingmuseum.org February 27-april 2 Manual (Hill / Bloom), “Raising NATURE” Moody Gallery 713-526-9911 | moodygallery.com February 27-June 5 “The Interview: Red, Red Future” Contemporary Arts Museum Houston 713-284-8250 | camh.org March 2-30 Kathryn Rabinow, “Abstract/Random/Con-crete/Sequential” The Jung Center 713-524-8253 | junghouston.org March 4-18 Patrick Renner and Flying Carpet, “Trumpet Flower” Downtown District 713-650-3022 | downtowndistrict.org March 4-11 “La Reina Selena” East End Studio Gallery eestudiogallery.com March 5-27 Tim McCoy (Fotofest) Redbud Gallery 713-862-2532 | redbudgallery.com March 9-april 20 Gavin Rain, “Alternative Perspective” Laura Rathe Fine Art Post Oak 713-527-7700 | laurarathe.com March 11-april 29 “Emergent: A Photo-based Juried Exhibi-tion” MECA Performing Arts MECA Dow School Lobby 713-802-9370 | meca-houston.org March 11-July 24 “Life Is Once, Forever: Henri Cartier-Bresson Photographs” The Menil Collection 713-525-9400 | menil.org March 12-april 2 Ken Little d. m. allison gallery 832-607-4378 | dma-art.com March 12-april 24 FotoFest 2016 Biennial: Changing Circum-stances: Looking at the Future of the Planet FotoFest International Various locations 713-223-5522 | fotofest.org March 14-april 30 “Emergent: A Photo-based Juried Exhibi-tion” Multicultural Education and Counseling through the Arts 713-802-9370 x14 | meca-houston.org March 15-17 KidZine: Kids Springing into Publishing The Printing Museum 713-522-4652 | printingmuseum.org March 15-april 3 Imago Art Show Houston’s First Baptist Church The Loop campus 713-957-7681 | imagohouston.org March 18-20 Houston Antiques + Art + Design Show Dolphin Promotions George R. Brown Convention Center 708-366-2710 | houstonantiquesartdesign. com March 18-28 YesYesNo, “mas que la cara (more than the face)” Downtown District 713-650-3022 | downtowndistrict.org March 21-22 Jamal Cyrus, “Lightnin’ Field” HOUS T ON PRES S 20 1 6 SPRIN G a R T S & EVENT S 28 through February 28 Asis, Cruz-Diez, Ferrari, de Freitas, Sobrino, Tomasello, “Sculpture / Vision” Sicardi Gallery 713-529-1313 | sicardi.com through February 28 Fariba Abedin, “This Time on Paper” The Jung Center 713-524-8253 | junghouston.org through March 4 Jade Abner, Iva Kinnaird, Evelyn Pustka, Em-ily Whittemore, “Dimpled, Twisted, and Bur-ied” Fresh Arts 713-868-1839 | fresharts.org through March 4 “Taquerías Southmost: A Photographic Exhi-bition by Chuy Benitez” MECA Performing Arts MECA Dow School Lobby 713-802-9370 | meca-houston.org through March 5 “Vaquero: Genesis of the Texas Cowboy” The Heritage Society 713-655-1912 | heritagesociety.org through March 12 Barbara Smith, Travis K. Schwab, Elizabeth Rudnick, “Over Time”

Previous Page  Next Page


Publication List
Using a screen reader? Click Here